The Steve M. Slaby Award

The Steve M. Slaby Award is dedicated to an individual for his/her accomplishment, outstanding life achievement and superlative leadership and influential stature in the Geometry and Graphics Education community, especially at the international level. This award is to be a timely acknowledgement and reward for the contribution of the awardees while still alive and preferably active.


The Steve M. Slaby Award was founded by Harold Santo (Portugal) in 1991, when he was the president of “Graphics Science Promotion and Publications“ GRASP and organized the international conference COMPUGRAPHICS ’91. He dedicated the Award “… to an individual for his/her accomplishment, life achievement, and very outstanding, leading and influential stature in the Graphics Education field, especially at the international level… ”, and he stated that “… this Award is therefore also a timely opportunity to acknowledge and reward the contribution (of the distinguished person) during his/her lifetime… ”.

These specifications clearly justify that the Award be named after Steve M. Slaby, Professor (1922-2008), then Professor Emeritus at Princeton University, an outstanding scholar in graphics science and a driving force in the dissemination and betterment of education and research in the field. He personifies recipients of such a prize.

It was planned to present the Award biennially in connection with international conferences on geometry and graphics, and the first and second winner of this Award were Gary Bertoline (1995) and Andries van Dam (1997), both from the USA. In one of his last letters Harold Santo passed the torch to the International Society for Geometry and Graphics ISGG to indefinitely extend his then recently established award into an enduring tradition of biannual selection and presentation. Fulfilling Harold Santo’s late wish the board members of the ISGG reestablished presentation of the Steve M. Slabe Award. Since 2004 the award is announced and bestowed as part of ICGG events at the biannual conference.


To nominate an individual for the 2020 Steve M. Slaby Award, please provide the following information via our web form.

  1. Name of nominee
  2. Institutional affiliation
  3. Success as a teacher as evidenced by competence in a subject and ability to inspire students to high achievement.
  4. Improvement of tools for and contributions to teaching, as evidenced by the development of subject matter (textbooks, etc.), courses and curricula, diagrams or models, laboratory or teaching equipment, and other activities.
  5. Improvement of teaching through activities, such as creation of professional development or effective teaching institutes, testing or guidance programs, promotion of inter-institutional or industry/education cooperative programs, or the coordination and development of fields of subject matter.
  6. Scholarly contributions to technical, scientific or artistics literature, significant previous honors, awards, etc.

Nominees do not need to be a member of ISGG.


The Steve M. Slaby awardee is elected by three past chairs of ISGG, the election is conducted by its current chair. The board of ISGG agreed to exclude current board members from nomination to the Steve M. Slaby award.

Past Awardees

2022: Hans-Peter Schröcker (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
2018: Otto Röschel (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
2014: Manfred Husty (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
2012: Emiko Tsutsumi (Otsuma Women’s University, Japan)
2010: Paul Zsombor-Murray (McGill University, Canada)
2008: Gunter Weiss (TU Dresden, Germany)
2006: Kenjiro Suzuki (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
2004: Hellmuth Stachel (University of Technology Vienna, Austria)
1997: Andries van Dam (Brown University, USA)
1995: Gary Bertoline (Purdue University, USA)